ACTOR’S CORNER – Victoria Thaine (THE LOVED ONES)

Posted in Uncategorized by johnwildman on April 10, 2010

ACTOR’S CORNER – VICTORIA THAINE (THE LOVED ONES)

I am an unabashed fan of this film. I saw it at the Toronto Film Festival – all but forcing the programming staff of AFI FEST to see it with me: “Come on! It’s Australian…crazy prom girls with power tools and mirror balls… It’s gotta be great!”

And I was so right on this one. They still freakin’ owe me for leading the way to this demented goodness. We brought it to L.A. for Halloween and now we’ve brought it to Dallas. Happy, happy, “MISERY meets PRETTY IN PINK Aussie-style”, joy, joy. Seriously, Sean Byrne’s little bloody masterpiece is your basic cautionary tale about ignoring the fact that a psychotic high school girl with an equally crazy henchman for a father is crushing out on you before the big dance.

And Victoria Thaine, who plays the girlfriend of said crazy girl’s target dreamy boy does her part to add to the fun by being much more than your standard issue tie a yellow ribbon type while he deals with uhmmm…. things. Because she’s Australian. And beautiful. And she’ll kick ya’ if she has to.

How much training did you do to prepare for the stunts in THE LOVED ONES?
Myself and the girl in hot pink (Robyn McCleavy) had a couple of serious sessions of stunt choreography to prepare for our tussle in the car. It is definitely one of the more fun scenes I’ve ever had to do. It took about four hours to shoot and despite the training, both of us ended up covered in bruises and I had a swollen ankle that had to be attended to by the nurse. Kicking someone in the head while wearing a pretty apricot frock made me feel pretty tough. I’d like to do it again. Not to Robyn, maybe someone else!

What’s the main difference with working with an Australian film crew versus working with an American film crew?
We work much, much faster. There’s no fart-arsing around! I once sat in a trailer for three full days on an American production waiting for my scene to come up and I’m sure that’s not unusual. That would just never happen in Australia. We don’t have the money. I also think Australia film crews are probably very inventive as we cut our teeth on productions with such small budgets that we have to think outside the box. On the best productions there’s a real sense of everyone being in there together – there’s less hierarchy than on American sets.

In order for love to conquer all, does it help to have power tools at your disposal?
I always sleep with a drill under my pillow just in case I need to get my boyfriend to tow the line. A staple gun works too but a drill bit through the penis is better.

Now that Xavier Samuel is going to be part of the TWILIGHT universe, will you feel obligated to actually watch those movies?
It’s pathetic but I’ve now watched the first two films in the TWILIGHT series just to get up to date. Both times were on a long-haul flight under the mild influence of valium and I would highly recommend watching them in this manner. I find it amusing that literally overnight Xavier suddenly had fan pages on the net with paparazzi photos of him at LAX. I’m sure he’ll be fantastic in the film.

What’s your position on road kill?
If you’re going to eat it, braise it for a very, very long time.

THE LOVED ONES screens at the Landmark Magnolia 4 on Friday, April 9 at Midnight and on Sunday, April 11 at 10:00PM.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dallas AC Repair said, on May 25, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    I sounds like my wife would love this movie!


Leave a Reply

